For a while now I’ve been planning this trip to The UK and Ireland and because I am going to be travelling for a month, I have to live on a budget. Besides saving on fancy hotels and restaurants, I don’t want to spend all of my non existing money on expensive tourist tours and grumpy guides. First I thought this would mean giving up on some real important things which I definitely wanted to visit, but that’s not the case. I discovered that you can have so many different options when it comes to doing free stuff in cities and especially in London. I found an entire list of free things to do in London on the official site of London tourism. (I posted the link below) Here are already some of my favourites I’ll definitely be visiting this summer.

Een tijdje geleden heb ik besloten om deze zomer een maand door het Verenigd Koninkrijk en Ierland te trekken. Omdat ik een hele maand ga reizen, moet ik zeker binnen budget blijven en dat kan soms echt moeilijk zijn. Naast geld besparen op dure hotels en chique restaurants, wil ik ook niet mijn niet bestaand budget uitgeven aan zo van die busritten voor toeristen met irritante gidsen die denken dat ze alles weten. Eerst dacht ik dat ik daardoor veel zou moeten laten vallen, maar dit is dus echt niet waar. Ik heb ontdekt dat Londen echt vol met verscholen pareltjes zit waar je niet voor moet betalen. Op de officiële site van toerisme in Londen staat een lijst met 101 dingen die je gratis kan doen. ( De link staat onderaan) Hier zijn al enkele van mijn favorieten die ik in juli zeker ga doen.

urban-landscape-photography-london-tower-bridge

first of all, museums! If you are more into culture, London is the city to go to. Most of the museums there are free. In fact, all over the UK, museums rarely ask an entry.

Eerst en vooral moet je echt de verschillende musea een kans geven. In Londen en in de meeste andere steden in het Verenigd Koninkrijk zijn musea helemaal gratis. Dus, alle cultuurliefhebbers, naar daar zou ik zeggen!

On top left: Museum of London Docklands, Down left: Bank of England museum, right: Tate Modern

If you are more of a nature lover, you have to visit one of the grand parks. You’ll completely forget that you’re actually in a city. Let yourself wander along the many hiking trails in Richmond Park, the largest Royal Park in London, or mingle between a mix of tourists and locals in St. James’s Park where you can witness the changing of the Guards.

Als je meer van de natuur houdt, zijn er genoeg parken en bossen om in te verdwalen. Jup, zelfs in een stad. Richmond Park is de perfecte plek om te weg te dwalen in een ongerept graslandschap. Als je je liever onder de mensen begeeft, dan moet je naar St. James’s Park. Hier kan je het beroemde fenomeen ‘Changing of the Guards’ zien.

richmond-park-85-edit

940-buckingham-palace-from-st-jamess-park-in-london

up: Richmond Park, down: St. James’s Park

I just love a relaxing afternoon in the sun with a beer listening to some live music.

Een perfecte namiddag? Achterover geleund tegen een boom met een koel biertje en live muziek.

southbank-centres-roof-garden

Join the  Pride in London Parade to celebrate the LGBT+ community. (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans) This event usually takes place in June or July. The festival last for about two weeks and includes theatre, dance, cinema, art and parties all around the city

Neem deel aan de Pride in London Parade en vier de holebi- en transgendergemeenschap. Het festival duurt twee weken en vindt plaats in juni of juli. Het bestaat uit theater, dans, film, kunst en bovenal heel veel feestjes.

Participants take part on June 16, 2012

pride

Of course you have to end you wonderful day on a good note. There is no better way of doing that than to drink a beer or fruity cocktail somewhere amazing. I found some quirky, typical and impressive bars and pubs where you absolutely have to go. I know I will!

Er is geen betere manier om een dag af te sluiten dan een fris pintje of een fruitige cocktail te gaan drinken. En als dit toevallig ook nog eens op een fantastische locatie kan, dan is de dag helemaal geslaagd. Ik heb enkele leuke, typische en zelfs indrukwekkende cafés gevonden waar ik deze zomer zeker iets ga drinken.

Left: Barts, On top: Callooh Callay, down right: Sky Garden

Enjoy and let me know what other awesome things you discover in London!

Veel plezier en laat mij weten of je nog andere geweldige plaatsen ontdekt in Londen!

101 free things to do in London:

http://www.visitlondon.com/things-to-do/budget-london/101-free-things-to-do-in-london?ref=mosaic#Sa54gBCo964tTMSD.97

