‘Don’t hesitate and allow yourself to make excuses. Just get out and do it. Just get out and do it. You will be very, very glad that you did.’ – Christopher McCandless

This seems like an appropriate quote to start this story.

p1030939
Königssee in the morning. Beginning of our adventure.

There is this little place in the south of Germany called Schönau am Königssee. It’s a small village set in a national park surrounded by the Alps.  I have been going there since I was a child and it’s kind of my second home.

Last summer my family and I went up there to go hiking. We decided to tackle some bigger tours and stay in mountain cabins for the night. We mapped out our way carefully and got everything we might need. The night before our tour, I went to bed early with butterflies in the stomach.

The next morning, my sister and I woke up early and packed our bags. After breakfast (not much, stress started to take the upper hand) we left before dawn and caught the first boat, which brought us to our starting point. Because of the haze trapped between the two adjoining mountains, it seemed like our boat floated over the lake. This would have been all mystical and everything if not for the other passengers. You have to know, my physical condition is the worst ever. So seeing all those fit, broad shouldered people who were going on exactly the same tour as I was, was kind of daunting.

p1030936
At 8 O’ clock they sent two boats to the starting point in St. Bartholmä.

The first hour was not too bad. I was using those fancy looking walking sticks made for experienced climbers and felt like I could run up the mountain. As the fog vaporized, so did my conceit. The higher we got, the sharper the bends became and my courage faded away. After climbing two more hours we came across an abandoned cabin next to a stream where we eagerly refreshed our water bottles. After a quick bite, we continued our way. My mother had been there before and she had frequently told us stories about ‘Die Saugasse’. This was a locally known term for the really steep ascent, which you had to climb in order to get to Kärlingerhaus, our accommodation for the night.

Before we got to the Saugasse, we had to cross some sort of valley, completely secluded from everything. It was like wandering around in one of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings books. Hearing nothing but birds and small waterfalls, seeing those beautiful flowers and breathing that typical mountain air, I would not have been surprised to see an elf appear.

dsc_2389
the valley between the abandoned cabin and the Saugasse.

Reaching the foot of the Saugasse, we decided to split up. My sister and dad left first, but we already  caught up with them after two bends where they seemed to have suddenly stopped. Sitting under a rock, kind of like a really small cave, there was a statue of Jesus and a trough filled with water. I don’t know why we stopped there, or why this image stayed with me all this time, but the scene was sort of unsettling. It felt like a place where you had to pray you’d survive the ascent. Now, it’s kind of ridiculous to think about it, but at the time I swear it didn’t seem that stupid.

flash-_2
Jesus statue at the foot of the Saugasse

So after my little silent prayer, we continued our climb and all I can remember of ‘die Saugasse’ is the feeling that it went on and on for ever. You have to imagine a continuing path that runs up between two enormous rocks. The higher you get, the smaller the passage gets. The thing that makes it so impressive is that is’s only rock. The bare, rocky terrain only makes it harder not to slip. And the worst thing: you never see the end. It was like the time just stopped and the only thing I could do, was putting one more foot in front of the other. Step after step…

flash
at the top of the Saugasse. We made it!

Finally, after what seemed like ages, we got to the top of the Saugasse. Suddenly, the sky went pitch black, like you only see in films or read about in books. This can only happen in mountains, I am sure of it. I heard some faint noise and asked if my mom could hear it too. Before she could answer, rain came pouring down on us and some moments later, thunder rumbled over our heads. Hoping lightning wouldn’t strike our walking sticks sticking out of our backpack, we climbed on.

The last phase of our tour went in a blur. The storm lasted for about an hour. I remember the clouds hanging below us like a black carpet. Completely cut of from the real world, which felt creepy and magical at the same time.

We started at 7am and  arrived at 5 pm. It was the most beautiful, exhausting, wonderful fucked-up day in my life.

flash-_7
Funtensee in the evening

***

Schönau am Königssee is een klein dorpje in het zuiden van Duitsland. Ik kom hier al sinds ik me kan herinneren. Dit verborgen pareltje in de Duitse Alpen is dan ook mijn tweede thuis.

Deze zomer besloten we om grotere toeren te doen en in berghutten te overnachten. Na goed te plannen en alles in huis te halen wat we eventueel nodig zouden hebben, was het zover. ‘s Avonds kroop ik met kriebels in de buik in bed.

flash-_14

De volgende dag stonden we vroeg op en na een snel ontbijt, vertrokken we. Voor dag en dauw namen we de boot naar ons startpunt. Door de dikke ochtendmist die tussen de twee bergwanden hing, leek het alsof we in een droom verder voeren. Dit had allemaal heel magisch kunnen zijn, ware het niet voor de andere passagiers. Je moet weten dat mijn conditie ver onder het vriespunt ligt en toen ik al die breedgeschouderde, fitness mensen zag die exact dezelfde toer gingen doen als ik, zonk de moed me in de schoenen.

Het eerste uur was nog niet zo erg. Ik was uitgerust met high-tech materiaal zoals mooi uitziende wandelstokken om evenwicht te bewaren in moeilijke passages. Ik voelde me echt in mijn element. Alsof ik de berg zo op kon lopen. Na een tijdje verdween de mist en daarmee ook mijn hoogmoed. Na nog eens twee uur kwamen we een verlaten hut naast een klein stroompje tegen. Het had een idyllische sfeer rond zich hangen. Na een snelle hap vulden we onze flessen in de beek en trokken verder. Mijn mama was hier al vaker geweest en had ons ons hele leven lang verhalen verteld over ‘Die Saugasse’. De naam voor de lokaal beruchte, steile klim die tussen ons en het Kärlingerhaus lag. (Onze hut voor die nacht)

flash-_5
Kärlingerhaus – Ons doel

Vooraleer we aan die beroemde Saugasse konden beginnen, moesten we een soort van vallei door. Het voelde alsof ik door een van de boeken van J.R.R. Tolkien liep. De fluitende vogels, klaterende watervalletjes, bloemen in kleurcombinaties die ik niet kan beschrijven en die typische berglucht in je longen. Ik was niet verbaasd geweest als er een elf was verschenen.

Aan de voet van de Saugasse haalden we allemaal diep adem en begonnen aan de klim. Na twee bochten zagen we een wel zeer onverwacht beeld. Onder een uitstekende rots (bijna een kleine grot) stonden er een vrij groot Jesusbeeld en een trog water. Ik weet niet waarom dit beeld me altijd is bijgebleven, maar het tafereel bracht me wat van mijn stuk. Ik had het gevoel dat dit een plaats was waar men een schietgebedje uitsprak voor zich aan de klim wagen. Nu ik dit zo opschrijf, klinkt het wat belachelijk, maar ik zweer dat het toen echt vreemd voelde.

flash-_4

Dus na dat klein schietgebedje klommen we verder. Het enige dat ik me echt goed herinner, is het gevoel dat er nooit een einde aan zou komen. Ik zal het proberen te beschrijven. Meer dan 40 serpentines die zicht steil naar boven slingerden, tussen twee kale rotswanden. Hoe hoger je kwam, hoe smaller de doorgang werd. Het ruwe, steenachtige terrein gaf de extra moeilijkheid niet weg te glijden op de losliggende steentjes. En het ergste: je zag het einde niet! Het was alsof de tijd gestopt was en het enige dat ik kon doen was verder stappen. Stap na stap…

flash-_3
Mijn zus boven aan de Saugasse.

Uiteindelijk kwamen we aan de top van de Saugasse aan, maar we hadden nog wel even te gaan. Opeens werd de lucht helemaal zwart. Wolken leken de vallei in te stromen met een snelheid die je alleen in films ziet. Ik hoorde een zacht getik en vroeg mama of ze het ook kon horen. Voor ze kon antwoorden, knalde de donder door de vallei. De regen stroomden naar beneden. Het enige wat we konden doen, was verder gaan en hopen dat de bliksem ons niet zou treffen omdat onze oh zo fantastische, high-tech wandelstokken uit onze rugzak staken.

flash-_8
Funtensee verdwenen in de ochtendmist. Op de achtergrond zie je de Viehkogel.

De laatste etappe was een waas. De storm hield een uur aan. Ik herinner me de wolken die onder ons hingen, als een zwart tapijt. Zo helemaal afgesneden van de wereld was een ervaring apart. Het was een beetje eng en magisch tegelijk.

We zijn vertrokken om 7 uur ‘s ochtends en zijn aangekomen om 17 uur ‘s avonds. Het was de mooiste, uitputtendste, wonderlijkste fucked-up dag in mijn leven.

pictures: Emma Koch

 

