Following on my latest post, I thought I share some of my own goals and dreams. I usually make small lists of stuff I still want to do. Most of them are not that special, just a list of books I still want to read or places in Antwerp (city I live in) I want to discover, but sometime there will be a list with dreams I’ll probably need a few years to accomplish. Mainly, I just want to give you guys some inspiration and ideas for when you’re bored.

So this week I start with my film list. Some of them I wanted to see for a long time, others I still have to wait a few months for. Let me know what’s on your film list or if you have some films I simply have to watch, please comment!

Already crossed these of my list – Afgestreept van mijn lijstje

In mijn vorige post had ik het over het maken van een Bucket List en ik dacht, misschien kan ik een paar van mijn eigen doelen delen. Ik maak vaak kleine lijstjes met vrij onbelangrijke dingen die ik wil doen, zoals boeken die ik wil hebben gelezen. Soms kunnen het ook dromen zijn waar ik in het beste geval enkele jaren voor nodig zal hebben.

Deze week begin ik met een lijstje van films die ik echt moet gezien hebben. Sommigen wil ik echt al jaren zien, andere moet ik nog een paar maanden voor wachten. Laat me weten welke films er bij jullie op de lijst staan!

Dunkirk

For my first one I still have to wait a few more months. Dunkirk will have its premiere the 21th of July in the UK. I am so thrilled ’cause that month I will be in the UK so ‘Hello Red Carpet!” (In my dreams…)  The film is about the evacuation of Dunkirk in 1945. Christopher Nolan is one of my favourite directors (next to Tom Hooper) and the cast exists of incredible actors such as Cillian Murphy, Tom hardy and Harry Styles. And, I mean, those three in uniform…

Voor de eerste film op mijn lijstje moet ik nog een paar maanden wachten. Dunkirk gaat 21 juli in première in het Verenigd Koninkrijk. Dit komt echt super mooi uit, want ik ben op dat moment een maand daar dus ‘Hello Red Carpet’ (In mijn dromen ja…) De film gaat over de evacuatie van Duinkerke tijdens WO II in 1945. Christopher Nolan is een van mijn favoriete regisseurs (naast Tom Hooper) en de cast bestaat uit echt fantastische acteurs zoals Cillian Murphy, Tom Hardy en Harry Styles. En ik bedoel, die drie in uniform…

The Perks of being a Wallflower

This one has always lingered in the back of my mind. I thinks it’s a classic that everyone just has to see once in their life.The film tells the story of Charlie. After a depression, Charlie starts his freshman year without any friends. He feels lonely and gets depressed again. This all changes when he meets Patrick, a senior, and his stepsister. (Ezra Miller and Emma Watson) The films is about friendship, trust, finding yourself and leaving the past behind.

Deze film heb ik echt al veel te lang op dit lijstje staan. I denk dat dit zo een klassieker is die iedereen wel eens in zijn of haar leven moet hebben gezien. Het verhaal gaat over Charlie, een jongen van 15 die aan zijn eerste jaar in ‘Highschool’ begint. Hij heeft echter een jaar van depressie achter de rug en voelt zich zeer alleen. Dit verandert allemaal wanneer hij Patrick (Ezra Miller) een laatste jaar en zijn stiefzus (Emma Watson) ontmoet. De film gaat over vriendschap, vertrouwen, jezelf vinden en het verleden achter je laten.

Swiss Army Mann

Hank (Paul Dano) washes ashore on a deserted island and tries to commit suicide. Just before he can hang himself, he discovers a body (Daniel Radcliffe). He sort of develops a friendship with the corps and finds out that he can manipulate it like a Swiss Army knife.  After reading this you’d probably be a bit shocked and believe me, I was creeped out as well. But then I saw the trailer and the story really touched me. It’s this typical ‘Sundance quirkiness’ and I love that.

Hank (Paul Dano) spoelt aan op een verlaten eiland en probeert zelfmoord te plegen. Net voor hij zich zelf kan ophangen, vindt hij een lijk. Er groeit een soort van vriendschap tussen de twee en hij ontdekt dat hij lichaam kan manipuleren zoals en Zwitsers zak mes. Na het lezen van dit zul je waarschijnlijk een beetje gechoqueerd en geloof mij, ik vond het ook vrij bizar. Ik heb toch de trailer gezien en het greep mij echt aan. Dit is een typische vervreemdende Sundance productie.

Beauty and the Beast

I’ve waited soooo long for this film and this Saturday I finally get to go and see it. Hello avant-premiere… This film has always been my favourite Disney film and when they announced Emma Watson would portray Belle and Dan Steven (from Downton Abbey) would be the beast, I was overjoyed. My inner child is so excited. I do have to mention their decision to make Lefou gay. This is the first Disney film that has a explicit gay character and it raised a lot of discussions on the internet. It kind of shocked me how many people have a problem with this and that’s why Disney (and films in general) should try and break this taboo.

Ik heb zo lang gewacht op deze film en nu zaterdag kan ik hem eindelijk gaan zien. Belle en het Beest is altijd al mijn favoriete Disney film geweest en toen er bekend werd gemaakt dat Emma Watson en Dan stevens (Downton Abbey) Belle en het Beest zouden vertolken kon mijn innerlijk kind zijn geluk niet op. Ik moet ook echt even iets zeggen over hun beslissing om Lefou homo te maken. Dit is de eerste keer dat Disney kiest om een personage zeer expliciet homoseksueel te maken en dat zorgde voor een gigantische discussie op het internet. Ik vind het vrij choquerend hoeveel mensen hier een probleem mee hebben en daarom moet Disney ( en in het algemeen de filmwereld) helpen dit taboe te doorbreken.

Les Misérables

This one has been on my list for so long and I actually watched it last Friday. I still want to share it with you because the story was just mindblowing. I just fell in love with every character in the musical. Since it’s a musical, there is a lot of singing and I mean a lot! But it’s not annoying, it just pulls you more into the story and you can feel those emotions so much better. The film was directed by my absolute favourite director, Tom hooper and a lot of incredible actors are in it like Eddie Redmayne, Anne Hathaway, Hugh jackman and Russell Crowe. It’s a story full of love and hope. I actually got goosebumps and tears in my eyes at the final song.

Deze musical/film heeft al heel lang op mijn lijstje gestaan en ik heb hem eindelijk vorige vrijdag gezien. Ik wil dit toch even met jullie delen omdat het verhaal echt indruk op mij heeft achtergelaten. Ik ben gewoon verliefd geworden op elk personage. Omdat het het musical is wordt echt bijna alles gezongen, maar dit stoorde totaal niet omdat het je extra meesleurt in de gevoelens van het personage. De film is werd geregisseerd door mijn absolute favoriet, Tom Hooper. De cast bestaat ook weer uit geweldige acteurs zoals Eddie Redmayne, Hugh Jackman, Anne Hathaway en Russell Crowe. Bij de finale kreeg ik echt kippenvel en tranen in mijn ogen.

 

 

