Escalators: on the right!

This is really important to take into account when you travel to London. Last week it was my first time there and of course I had heard of the custom, but I had never thought they would take it that seriously. So I was standing on the escalator (right side. I don’t yet want to die) and a random guy was standing in front of me on the left side. He had obviously never been there either and just ignored every sign that clearly indicated to stand ON THE RIGHT SIDE. People actually started shouting at him. My guess, he will never ever stand on the left side again. Poor chap! (practising my British)

De goude regel zegt dat je aan de rechter kant moet staan als je een roltrap pakt. Als je in Londen bent, dan doe je dat ook! Vorige week ben ik voor de eerste keer in Londen geweest en natuurlijk had ik van deze gewoonte gehoord, maar ik had niet gedacht dat het zo diepgeworteld zat. Ik stond dus mooi aan de rechter kant van de roltrap (ik wil nog even blijven leven) toen de man voor mij zo dom en/of onwetend was om links te gaan staan. Hij was blijkbaar nog nooit in Londen geweest en negeerde elk bordje: “Stand on the right side”. Domme zet! Mensen begonnen echt te roepen zodat ze er langs konde. Ik heb zo’n vermoeden dat hij nooit meer links gaat staan.

tea solves everything
Told you…
Tea will solve everything

I’m actually starting to believe that… I mean, the photo is selfexplaining and if you have been in London (or the UK in general) you’ll know that they make a mean cup of tea.

Ik begin het stilletjes te geloven…Ik bedoel, de foto vraagt geen uitleg en als je al ooit in Londen bent geweest (Verenigd Koninkrijk in het algemeen) dan weet je dat ze inderdaad fantastische thee kunnen zetten.

 

You'll fall in love with Camden

You  really will. Have you ever had the feeling you didn’t belong somewhere? Or that you’re to awesome for society and should go around dressed like a punk-unicorn with a Game of Thrones T-shirt instead of rolling with the crowd? Camden is you’re true home! Alternative shops, street food from all over the world and a market as far as you can see. Welcome Home!

(I will write a separate post on Camden ’cause I lost my heart somewhere in it’s little streets)

Echt waar! Heb je ooit het gevoel gehad dat je nergens thuis hoorde? Dat je te geweldig en uniek bent voor de samenleving en rond zou moeten lopen, verkleed in een punk-eenhoorn pak en een Game of Thrones T-shirt in plaats van mee te gaan in de stroom? Dan is Camden je nieuwe thuis! Alternatieve winkeltjes, street food van over heel de wereld en een markt zover je kan kijken.

(Ik zal een aparte post schrijven over Camden, want ik ben mijn hart daar verloren)

18159612_1305730632876466_209841375_o18160043_1305730482876481_823027108_o

Soho = food and drinks

Date? Girls night out? Restaurant? Pub? Cheap, but amazing? Italian? Chinese? Thai? French? An ale? Pink wine? ….

One word: SOHO

Date? Meidenavond? Restaurant? Pub? Goedkoop, maar lekker? Italiaans? Chinees? Thai? Frans? Pintje? Rosé? …

Een woord: SOHO

Musicals are a BIG thing in London

Of course everyone has heard of West End. Broadway in London or whatever you want to call it. The fact is, it’s way bigger than I thought it would be. Everywhere I turned there were theatre, small and big, on every corner of the street there were little shops selling tickets and even on the pavement there were special tributes to some of the longest running musicals such as Les Misérables.

Iedereen heeft ooit wel eens van West End gehoord! Het Londense Broadway of hoe je het ook wilt noemen. Ik bedoel, we leven niet in een grot, he? We kennen losjes het verhaal van The Phantom of the Opera of Les Misérables. Wat ik niet wist, is dat het echt zo enorm leeft in Londen. Overal waar je kijkt, zijn er theaters, groot en klein. Op elke hoek vind je wel een winkeltje dat last minute kaarten verkoopt. Zelfs op de grond zie je hier en daar een eerbetoon aan enkele van de langstlopende musicals, zoals Les Misérables. Je kan er niet omheen! Als je in Londen vertoeft, kan je gewoon niet anders dan naar een voorstelling gaan kijken.

Squirrels everywhere...

At home, we have a few squirrels in the trees. You know, it’s like when you see one you shout squirrel and everyone in the room turns there head, but most of them are to late because it disappeared again. Well, in London squirrels are like pigeons in a city. They are literally everywhere. Running around, digging between bushes and eating from children’s hands. I was quietly stunned.

Thuis hebben we toch wel wat eekhoorns in de tuin zitten. Je weet wel, je ziet er een, schreeuwt: “EEKHOORN”, iedereen in de kamer loopt naar het raam, maar ze zijn hopeloos te laat omdat het beestje weer tussen de takken verdwenen is. Wel, in Londen zijn de eekhoorns in zo’n grote massa’s aanwezig dat je er niet naast kunt kijken. Rondscharrelend, gravend tussen de struiken, etend vanuit de handen van toeristen,….Overal!

Taking the bus is risking your life (but pretty cool)

We were staying in a hostel a little bit out of the centre so we took the bus a few times. I knew those buses from films and series, but never thought to be on one. The flashy red, the little staircase leading towards the second floor,…It was so cool, until it started to drive. You were safe when you stayed downstairs and sat down quickly, but you know me, I had to go up and enjoy the view. Not a very smart idea. Climbing up while he was driving was like trying to stand straight on a trampoline when someone is jumping around. That makes me wonder, what kind of horror would it be if you have to take the bus home at night after you’ve drunk a few beers?

Je kent ze wel, die typische rode dubbeldekkers. Ik had ze al zo vaak in films en series gezien, maar ik had nooit gedacht dat ik op één zou zitten. Echt zo leuk…tot dat ze begint te rijden. Je bent veilig als je beneden blijft en snel een plaatsje verovert, maar als je net als ik zo dom bent op boven te gaan zitten, dan heb je veel evenwicht nodig om daar te geraken. Je kunt het naar boven klimmen vergelijken met wanneer je op een trampoline recht probeert te blijven staan als er iemand naast je begint te springen. Wat ik me het meeste afvraag, hoe in godsnaam geraak je boven als je een paar pintjes ophebt?

bus

Policemen ignore red lights (and so should you)

Yes! I saw it with my own eyes. Me a some friends trying to find a bus station after going to the pub so it was pretty late. we were standing in front of a red light at Trafalgar square when two policemen passed us with a Starbucks coffee and just crossed. They didn’t even bother with checking if there were any cars. A little bit surreal, but whatever, we just followed them and caught our bus just in time because of it.

Jup…Met mijn eigen ogen gezien. We kwamen terug van een pub en stonden tegen half twaalf ‘s nachts aan Trafalgar square voor een rood licht te wachten, toen er twee agenten ons voorbij staken en vervolgens zonder op of om te kijken door het rood liepen. We hebben ze dan maar gewoon nagedaan. Toch best een beetje surreëel.

 

P1050172-1
London Eye and Big Ben by night

Photo credits: Emma Koch

 

 

