In one week I will leave for a month to explore the UK and Ireland. I’ve been preparing as long as I knew this is how I wanted to spend my holiday. I’ve been saving up for the past 7 months and now July has finally arrived. Bit nervous, but most of all super excited. I kind of underestimated what I still have to do before I can leave.  I watched like a thousands vlogs on how to prepare. These are some things I think are essential you do before leaving. Well, it’s essential for me, anyway. 🙂

Book your accommodation

I, for example, booked on hostelworld.com. This is an amazing site if you want to book safe and easy. I know a lot of people like to be impulsive and not tied down to an arranged plan, but in the summer, this can be risky. I recommend you book ayway,

but be sure you pick the option flexible booking. This means you pay a small amount more (on hostelworld 1 euro), but for that you can cancel the accommodation up until one day before you’ re bound to arrive and you get your deposit back. This way you are certain you’ll have a bed for the night, but there’s still room for impulsiveness.

Check train/bus schedules

This is important if you are planning to travel with public transport. Of course, you don’t have to plan every minute, but I personally like to check these things. I am not going to fall to pieces if I miss a train and have to take the next one, but it’s maybe good to check if there even is a train/ bus the day you’re planning to travel to the next place. It doesn’t take much time, but it can cost you the stress of being stranded in a station.

Make lists!

I actually still have to do this. You are going to forget something, without a doubt, but minimise it by creating these little lists. For the past month I’ve been making mental notes on what to bring, but I should’ve written them. I will make these lists tonight, so maybe I’ll post them. To make it easier I will split them up in categories (Yes, I am very organized…not)  So first of all I have my tech-list with camera stuff,… Secondly, I have a toilet things list, you know, deodorant, toothbrush, girl stuff,… I also have a clothing list (obviously) and a ‘stuff’ list with things like ear protectors (good when you’re sleeping in a dorm).

Check your technology

Worst case scenario: you arrive at the hostel, want to go explore, grab your camera and notice your memory card is full, or even worse, no memory card at all…So before you leave, check memory cards, batteries, if your chargers work, what sort of adapter you’ll need, wipe your phone’s memory,…

Update your playlist.

Change your playlist and update the sort of music on your phone/ Ipod because I can guarantee you’ll be bored of he same music within two days. TIP: buy an extra hard drive. It doesn’t have to be expensive. It’s just useful to have extra memory for music, photos etc…

(Forget what I said about not writing in Dutch any more…My teacher just told us we had to keep writing in Dutch the next two months for further evaluation)


Het is eindelijk zo ver. Volgende week vertrek ik voor een maand naar het Verenigd Koninkrijk en Ierland. Ik ben een beetje nerveus, maar kan vooral niet wachten om de sleur van het dagelijkse leven even achter mij te laten en nieuwe plaatsen te ontdekken. Ik heb de voorbereiding wel een beetje onderschat, ook al heb ik de laatste maand honderden tutorials op youtube bekeken over hoe je je moet voorbereiden op zo’n reis. Onderstaande vijf puntjes zijn dingen die ik zelf ondervonden heb die je toch best gedaan moet hebben voor je kan vertrekken.

Boek accommodatie

Ik heb via hostelworld.com geboekt. Dit is een heel simpele manier en zeer veilig. Ik raad aan om best heel je reis op voorhand vast te leggen. Natuurlijk is het leuker om ter plekken je plannen te wijzigen en naar ergens anders te gaan, maar in de zomermaanden is dit misschien iets te riskant omdat veel hostels al zijn vol geboekt. Als je zeker wilt zijn van een bed ‘s nachts, maar toch die vrijheid wilt hebben moet je best ‘flexible booking’ gebruiken. Door 1 euro meer te betalen, kan je tot 24 uur van te voren afzeggen en krijg je deposito terug gestort. Hierdoor heb je alle vrijheid van de wereld om impulsief te zijn tijdens het reizen.

Check trein en bus uren

Ik ga deze maand vaak lang op de trein zitten, soms gecombineerd met een ferry van een paar uur. In dit geval check je best even de treinuren van die dag, want je wilt niet de dag zelf er achter komen dat er geen treinen rijden, of enkel om de drie uur. Als je ergens op tijd wilt aankomen (hostels vragen vaak een uur door te geven wanneer je aankomt), is het best dat je op voorhand checkt, in plaats van in een verlaten station te stranden.

Maak lijstjes

Dit helpt echt. ik weet dat het heel moeilijk is om te beginnen inpakken, Ik bedoel, ik vertrek binnen zes dagen en heb nog niet echt iets gedaan. Wat ik vandaag wel ga doen (het moet gewoon) is lijstjes maken met alles dat ik nodig heb. Dat geeft me nog genoeg tijd om inkopen te gaan doen als ik iets mis. Ik heb het lijstje ingedeeld in groepjes om een beetje overzichtelijk te werk te gaan. (Moet wel, als je zo’n grote sloddervos bent zoals ik) Je kan ze opdelen in technologie (gsm, laders, camera,…) toilet spullen, kleren en extra (oordopjes,…).

Check je camera, gsm, etc

Worst case: je komt eindelijk aan op je bestemming, je wilt de stad intrekken, pakt je camera en je ziet dat de geheugenkaart vol is of nog erger…er niet in zit. Ik heb gisteren alles nagekeken. Geheugenkaarten leeggemaakt en veilig weggestoken, gsm leeg gemaakt en een externe hard disk in mijn tas gestoken. Check ook of je bestemming andere stopcontacten heeft, anders kan dat ook even vloeken zijn.

Update je playlist

Gooi oude muziek van de Ipod en neem de tijd om nieuwe muziek te downloaden. Maak verschillende playlisten en zorg ervoor dat je genoeg muziek hebt dat je niet al na dag drie alles hebt beluisterd.

Ik hoop dat jullie er iets aan hebben!

 

 

 

