Travelling by bus is becoming more and more popular, not just with backpackers who wish to save some money, but also with tourists on a city trip or whatever. I’m one of those people who tries to save money by taking a bus instead of a plane and I know that for those prices I wont get the same luxury you expect when flying first class, but still, I want to arrive in one piece. So last Sunday I travelled to London with Flixbus and yesterday I returned with Eurolines. They both dropped me of safely, but there are some big differences. I do have a preference after this experience.

Flixbus-590x290

On our way to  London….

Last Sunday my sister and I travelled with Flixbus to London. We had a bus at 1:20 in the morning. It sucks, but that way we saved some more money and we had an extra day in London. Problem was, the bus wasn’t there ate 1 o’clock…Flixbus does send you text messages if your bus has any delay, which is very nice of them, but at that moment not very helpful. Luggage is stacked neatly in the trunk, but they don’t take into account how many people fit on the bus, so my sister had to stuff her backpack under her chair which reduced her leg space to something none existent.

Maybe this does sound all a bit negative, so now the good stuff. Flixbus has amazing wifi, which is kind of nice when you have to travel 8 hours. There is also a lot of space for your legs (except for my sister and some other pour souls) and there is a toilet (important!), but you have to take your own toilet paper or tissues and A LOT OF hand sanitizer! Like a lot.

Even with the delay and the border control at the Chanel, I thought the journey went really fluently. We arrived in one piece.

Going back…

6127546213_d5f6181f41

I was planning to travel through the country after visiting London, but I took a rash decision to come back after all. That meant buying a last minute ticket to Antwerp with Eurolines. This time there was enough space in the trunk for the luggage, but I guess they had to save up space somewhere…We had virtually no leg space which resulted in me sitting in really weird positions, annoying my neighbour and having a lot of back pain by the time we were outside of London. Something else that irritated like everyone in the bus were the chauffeurs who didn’t speak a word English and were kind of rude.

So when I have to choose for the next time I’ll definitely travel with Flixbus again. They offer far more comfortable and modern buses, which is nice when making such a long journey. GO FLIXBUS!


 

Met de bus reizen wordt met de dag populairder. Ik ben een van de mensen die geld probeert te sparen op reizen met een bus in plaats van te vliegen. Ik weet natuurlijk wel dat je voor die prijzen niet de voordelen van eerste klas vliegen mag verwachten, maar toch, je wilt liefst heel aankomen. Vorige zondag ben ik met Flixbus naar Londen gereisd en gisteren ben ik met Eurolines terug gekomen. Ik ben elke keer veilig aangekomen, maar er zijn toch enkele grote verschillen.

Heenreis…

flix_astrid

Mijn zus en ik hadden zondagnacht twee plaatsen op de Flixbus geboekt. Deze vertrok om 01:20…’s nachts. Ach ja, daardoor hadden we wel de goedkoopste tickets. Dus om 1 uur ‘s nachts stonden wij op het Astridplein in Antwerpen te wachten. En wachten. Uiteindelijk zijn we kunnen vertrekken om half drie. Flixbus stuurt wel smsjes als je bus vertraging heeft. Fijn om te weten, maar op dat moment helpt dat niet echt als je ‘s nachts aan het station staat te wachten. Je Bagage wordt wel deftig in de koffer gestoken, maar blijkbaar houden ze niet echt rekening met hoeveel volk er op de bus kan want mijn zus moest haar rugzak (gigantisch) aan haar voeten proppen.

Dit klinkt allemaal een beetje negatief dus hier komen de positieve dingen. Flixbus heeft fantastische wifi aan boord (toch tof als je 8 uur op een bus zit) en je hebt geweldig veel beenruimte (buiten mijn zus en enkele andere arme zieltjes). Er is een toilet aan boord, maar je moet wel je eigen toiletpapier of zakdoekjes meebrengen en best ook handontsmetter. Veel handontsmetter!

Achteraf gezien vond ik dat de reis vrij vlot is gegaan, ook met de vertraging en de controles aan de tunnel in Calais. We zijn iets na negen aangekomen. Helemaal heel.

terugreis…

1200px-Eurolines_Bova._AB_2009-5,_Minsk,_Belarus._ЕВРОЛАЙНС,_Минск,_Беларусь

Ik was van plan wat door het land te reizen na Londen bezocht te hebben, maar heb overhaast beslist om toch naar huis te komen en later terug te gaan. Ik heb daarom nogal last minute een ticket gekocht wat blijkbaar geen probleem was want er was nog plaats op de bus de volgende dag. Deze keer met Eurolines. Er was tot mijn grote verassing genoeg plaats voor alle bagage netjes in de koffer te steken, maar daarvoor moet je ergens wel plaats besparen. Onze benen hebben het moeten bekopen. Godzijdank dat er in Brugge (de eerste stop) veel mensen af moesten stappen waardoor ik de twintig centimeter beenruimte niet meer moest delen met mijn buurman. Een andere minpuntje was dat de buschauffeurs geen Engels konden. Buiten ‘Antwerp stop. Thank you, bye bye’ heb ik ze niet veel horen zeggen. Het toilet leek niet door te spoelen en er was geen wifi.

Dus alles bij elkaar geteld reis ik het liefst met Flixbus. Deze maatschappij bied veel meer comfort aan en de bussen zijn op alle vlakken moderner. GO FLIXBUS!

P1050077

We arrived safly 😀 We zijn er geraakt

